The running learnings continue

15 months into serious running and racing, and I am still learning new things. I thought that I was already doing everything that I should be doing to become a better athlete. Today, I discovered something new.

I have always leaned from the ankles, as they say. I always try to keep my collarbones up, as they say.

Last weekend the hubby said to push out the chest and waist forward as well, exaggerate it a bit. Shoulders must be pushed back. This form actually ensures that I truly am leaning forward from the ankles (I think I wasn’t before, although I thought I was!)

So anyway, this new form is all kinds of awkward at first. But hey, once you get the hang of it, it actually does make for faster speed. I think my butt propelled me forward! That’s what the Born To Run novel said. Apparently, our butts or glutes act as our propellers (or something like that! – don’t quote me on this lol).

I remember seeing a workmate’s snapshot at his first marathon. His was this exact running gait, chest high and forward, he finished in under four hours for his first marathon!

There’s a rub though. Although, it seemed that I speeded up, my lungs and calves could NOT keep up!

So there. I have to transition to this new running form gradually. Else I will surely injure myself again. Shhhh achilles heel!

TODAY’S STATS: 7KM, 6.21 min/km, Cadence 185 (!!!)

PS. That average cadence of 185 spm is amazing. I have always been on the 179-180 average. I am in my #happyplace!


About Charina

Mother of two. Running in my 40s. Clean eating, some of the time. Always Exploring, Learning, LOVING and Living. Visit www.myGloryBox.com View all posts by Charina

One response to “The running learnings continue

  • senga

    Ahhh you inspire me to run. I always remember & I think I read about it too that when you run, imagine your head being pulled up a string, mura naghikog diay hehe Ah a coach commented one time when I was running on a treadmill that my foot strike is quite heavy, maybe it will improve with more leg or core exercises eh?

    Like

What do you think?